EA Forums - Banner

I have finally figured out what is up with this game and, perhaps, ways to improve it.

I am an OG NHL veteran. I have had every single game they ever made. Maybe it is because I am 35 years old, maybe not, but this new generation of NHL games does not have "it". I don't think the game is garbage, mind you. I just don't get excited to play it anymore. Playing 3's with my buddies is fun but it is not like it used to be where we couldn't wait to play together (yes, we all have wives, girlfriends, kids, etc. but we are with the right people I suppose and don't have to beg for game time). Playing 6's is cumbersome and limiting. I play a lot of Franchise Mode but still there are a few things that could be addressed without a total overhaul even as I really put effort into my sliders trying to remedy some of this stuff.

What is "it"? "It" is what brings you back. It's the feeling of thinking "I am going to play 6 games of my franchise tonight." At most, I can play 3 games and get bored now. It's the feeling of going to bed thinking you didn't get enough.

Some things I would like to note:

- Being able to feel the crowd.

I remember, back in the day, when star players got booed, goals were scored and the volume of the crowd was actually measured (NHL 94 and prior I believe) and you could set noise records within your arena. The crowd feels empty or hollow now. It is hard to describe but I really don't feel it. You score the go-ahead goal late in the third and 15 seconds later the crowd is silent again. It is really weird. You mount a comeback and the crowd remains "there". You are getting destroyed and, while the stands clear a bit, the noise is the same. No boo's, nothing.

- The satisfaction of really working a hockey-play and finally beating a tough defensive team.