EA Forums - Banner

Is This What Rivals Is Like?

Hey all. I'm new to HUT in NHL. Just picked the game up over Christmas and have been playing offline and building my team a bit. Really enjoying it, but I decided to give Rivals a spin.

I'll freely admit that sometimes Pro AI can beat me (though I'm getting better!) before anyone shouts "git gud!" :D

In my placement games, I'm getting absolutely annihilated. Played three so far, and my opponents never seem to stop sprinting, never worry in the slightest about defending (other than constant checking) and I'm under pressure from the very first second. It feels like they have three players rushing the puck carrier at all times. If I win a faceoff, I've instantly got nowhere to go because I have two opponents an inch in front of me by the time the receiver gets the puck. It's relentless.

Went down 0-7, 2-7, and 0-11 so far. Third guy was still hitting full pressure at all times, even when he was 10-0 up with a minute to go in the third. Never stopped sprinting. I try to keep my defencemen in place, but I'm CONSTANTLY being caught 2-on-1. Every goal I've conceded so far has been odd-man rush...pass across the goal...bang. Which tactic do I employ to stop my defenders just roaming off to smell the flowers while the opponent has a free attacker stood combing his hair while he waits for the inevitable pass?

Don't get me wrong...I EXPECT to lose. I'm not very good. I know it! But is this how Rivals is all the time? I get that it's a fast game and a fast sport, but damn. Just trying to work out whether I should persevere or stick to offline play, more than anything. Are there any tips anyone can pass on (beyond "don't be terrible at NHL")?

Replies

• "never seem to stop sprinting, never worry in the slightest about defending (other than constant checking) and I'm under pressure from the very first second"