EA Forums - Banner

NHL 20 Content Update October 25th

Check out our CHEL notes with our October Patch update here.

Curbing EASHL drop-in quitters

Hi everyone,

I’m a computer programmer and a passionate hockey fan. I’m trying to figure out the best way to reduce quitters in EASHL drop-ins. I view this as a huge problem, because it’s the opposite of what drop-ins are for. If we want to play computers with a custom character, we can just play be-a-pro.

I feel like most serious competitive games, including e-sports, implement a system that prevents the quitter from playing another game until the game that they quit out of ends. This, in my opinion, is more sensible than other posited solutions, such as making the computer skaters/goalie horrifically bad, or raising the minimum human players, because those systems focus on the players remaining in the game, instead of focusing on the player doing the quitting. It’d be like if the police tried to make victims’ lives easier instead of trying to stop the criminal in the first place.

I’m hoping that a CONSTRUCTIVE discussion will get the developers’ attention, and solutions must be easily implementable, because the developers are busy enough.

Thanks!

Replies

• How about this: You can't join another game unless the game you were playing in is over.

If by some bad stroke of luck you get disconnected, you should be able to connect back into that game and into that exact same position.

It's an easy fix that I've been pitching for YEARS, but EA is clueless and spends half their resources on adding crap like mascots and "threes" that nobody asked for, and are ignoring the main issues PLAGUING this game which is killing the entire community.

Clearly NOONE on the EA NHL team actually plays this game and it's obvious.
  • That’s a great idea, about offering a one-time reconnection opportunity. I agree the most sensible way is to block the quitter until the games over.
  • zingaa1
    402 posts Member