EA Forums - Banner

How is this STILL a penalty??

GramerProfesur
558 posts Member
edited July 2019
Got a tripping call again... for hitting the puck first. How many times does EA need to get this right? I don’t feel like posting the video so I took a screenshot instead (of video on Xbox app) but this is getting stupid.. can’t defend properly at all

dfcnvzsfi6kh.png

Replies

  • Got a tripping call again... for hitting the puck first. How many times does EA need to get this right? I don’t feel like posting the video so I took a screenshot instead (of video on Xbox app) but this is getting stupid.. can’t defend properly at all

    dfcnvzsfi6kh.png

    I would guess that EA might not be able to set up such parameters for that to happen. They have a good group of people working on the game. But trying to program logic is hard and depending on the programming language very limiting.

    I don't disagree with you on this but I can also see how this hasn't been fixed. Programing isn't always a quick fix or add. There's challenges to everything they've programed in the game, while also getting to get it to fit within what is already in the game. And in this case, they would be trying to add logic to a penalty, on why it should or should not be called. I can't imagine it's that simple.
  • Got a tripping call again... for hitting the puck first. How many times does EA need to get this right? I don’t feel like posting the video so I took a screenshot instead (of video on Xbox app) but this is getting stupid.. can’t defend properly at all

    dfcnvzsfi6kh.png

    I would guess that EA might not be able to set up such parameters for that to happen. They have a good group of people working on the game. But trying to program logic is hard and depending on the programming language very limiting.

    I don't disagree with you on this but I can also see how this hasn't been fixed. Programing isn't always a quick fix or add. There's challenges to everything they've programed in the game, while also getting to get it to fit within what is already in the game. And in this case, they would be trying to add logic to a penalty, on why it should or should not be called. I can't imagine it's that simple.

    Of course it isn't as simple as slapping an $80 price tag on the cover, but jeez.... Give me some AAA content to go with that price at some point in time, you know?
  • GramerProfesur
    558 posts Member
    edited July 2019
    Got a tripping call again... for hitting the puck first. How many times does EA need to get this right? I don’t feel like posting the video so I took a screenshot instead (of video on Xbox app) but this is getting stupid.. can’t defend properly at all

    dfcnvzsfi6kh.png

    I would guess that EA might not be able to set up such parameters for that to happen. They have a good group of people working on the game. But trying to program logic is hard and depending on the programming language very limiting.

    I don't disagree with you on this but I can also see how this hasn't been fixed. Programing isn't always a quick fix or add. There's challenges to everything they've programed in the game, while also getting to get it to fit within what is already in the game. And in this case, they would be trying to add logic to a penalty, on why it should or should not be called. I can't imagine it's that simple.

    The same reason a check isn’t a penalty if it’s within a window? If they can make that possible making a tripping penalty negated if you touch puck first shouldn’t be difficult at all. Regardless if it’s difficult or not it’s an integral part of the game.. sounds like you’re making excuses for them

    I believe it was correct in 18 for what it’s worth and has been bad in 19 and now 20
  • Got a tripping call again... for hitting the puck first. How many times does EA need to get this right? I don’t feel like posting the video so I took a screenshot instead (of video on Xbox app) but this is getting stupid.. can’t defend properly at all

    dfcnvzsfi6kh.png

    I would guess that EA might not be able to set up such parameters for that to happen. They have a good group of people working on the game. But trying to program logic is hard and depending on the programming language very limiting.

    I don't disagree with you on this but I can also see how this hasn't been fixed. Programing isn't always a quick fix or add. There's challenges to everything they've programed in the game, while also getting to get it to fit within what is already in the game. And in this case, they would be trying to add logic to a penalty, on why it should or should not be called. I can't imagine it's that simple.

    Of course it isn't as simple as slapping an $80 price tag on the cover, but jeez.... Give me some AAA content to go with that price at some point in time, you know?

    Problem is that this issue isn’t even AAA content it’s so so basic. It’s extremely frustrating when they don’t get it right.. it’s obvious they do not care about working on it since it is so basic of a fix
  • Love reading stuff like this, the total hatred towards EA is comical. So none of you are aware that the NHL changed the rule? You're getting called for trips because the NHL changed the rule a few seasons ago. If you dive at a player, get puck first, then trip the player it's a minor penalty in today's NHL.

    EA was right and users were wrong... the horror!
  • RayFinkle1515
    352 posts Member
    edited July 2019
    For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty will be awarded.
    Post edited by RayFinkle1515 on
  • For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty shot will be awarded.
    For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty shot will be awarded.
    For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty shot will be awarded.

    Does the NHL stipulate if the same rules apply while wearing a parka and jeans on a canal?



  • Does the NHL stipulate if the same rules apply while wearing a parka and jeans on a canal?

    By that logic lets take out offside, icing, all trips, shashes, no more delay of game either. Oh yeah and you can play with 8 skaters now too.



  • Does the NHL stipulate if the same rules apply while wearing a parka and jeans on a canal?

    By that logic lets take out offside, icing, all trips, shashes, no more delay of game either. Oh yeah and you can play with 8 skaters now too.

    Only if you add superhero capes as an option in NHL 21.
  • For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty will be awarded.

    This is a discretion rule, meaning that if the official believes tripping was avoidable they will call it, hence the “if in the opinion of the referee”. Discretion calls should not be in the game and EA NHL has often deferred for it not being a penalty (the same as boarding)

    If the player was reaching for the puck and not the opponents legs, 9/10 times they won’t call it in the NHL
  • They still don’t what boarding is as well. Hitting a guy on his side is still being called boarding occasionally
  • jrago73
    746 posts Member
    jake19ny wrote: »
    They still don’t what boarding is as well. Hitting a guy on his side is still being called boarding occasionally

    Don't forget gliding into a check on the puck carrier or hitting him when he runs into you is charging.
  • For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty will be awarded.

    This is a discretion rule, meaning that if the official believes tripping was avoidable they will call it, hence the “if in the opinion of the referee”. Discretion calls should not be in the game and EA NHL has often deferred for it not being a penalty (the same as boarding)

    If the player was reaching for the puck and not the opponents legs, 9/10 times they won’t call it in the NHL

    It's not though

    Look if this were 2 seasons ago I would be right there with you railing EA on this.

    But you have it the other way around. Diving at a player, getting puck then trip gets called 9/10 times a trip in today's NHL
  • For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty will be awarded.

    This is a discretion rule, meaning that if the official believes tripping was avoidable they will call it, hence the “if in the opinion of the referee”. Discretion calls should not be in the game and EA NHL has often deferred for it not being a penalty (the same as boarding)

    If the player was reaching for the puck and not the opponents legs, 9/10 times they won’t call it in the NHL

    It's not though

    Look if this were 2 seasons ago I would be right there with you railing EA on this.

    But you have it the other way around. Diving at a player, getting puck then trip gets called 9/10 times a trip in today's NHL

    I watch a ton of games and can’t recall a single time where it was called this season.. so you have no idea what you’re talking about. And most fans don’t know the rule has changed even..

  • For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty will be awarded.

    You mentioned the section in reference to breakaways without including the general section under tripping which clearly states that accidental trips occurring simultaneously with a completed play will NOT be penalized.

    From my understanding, this means plays on the puck when not defending a breakaway will be judged under the previously (and obviously still current) understood interpretation of the tripping section in the rulebook.

    Unless black hoodie is shooting on a black sweatshirt goalie in the above clip, I think the OP has a point. If black hoodie is on a breakaway there, obviously your commentary is correct and I’d agree with you here.
  • Got a tripping call again... for hitting the puck first. How many times does EA need to get this right? I don’t feel like posting the video so I took a screenshot instead (of video on Xbox app) but this is getting stupid.. can’t defend properly at all

    dfcnvzsfi6kh.png

    a couple seasons ago the NHL changed this rule. the current rule states if you hit the puck first but still trip the player, you will receive a minor tripping penalty but not a penalty shot. its called a penalty because according to the real life rules it is a penalty. mkay?
  • GramerProfesur
    558 posts Member
    edited July 2019
    For those wanting to read more.

    nhl.com/nhl/en/v3/ext/rules/2018-2019-NHL-rulebook.pdf

    Rule 57.3

    If, in the opinion of the Referee, a player makes contact with the
    puck first and subsequently trips the opponent in so doing, no penalty
    shot will be awarded, but a minor penalty for tripping shall be
    assessed.


    This is in regards to breakaways and penalty shots. But it clearly states that If you dive and get puck first then trip the player a penalty will be awarded.

    You mentioned the section in reference to breakaways without including the general section under tripping which clearly states that accidental trips occurring simultaneously with a completed play will NOT be penalized.

    From my understanding, this means plays on the puck when not defending a breakaway will be judged under the previously (and obviously still current) understood interpretation of the tripping section in the rulebook.

    Unless black hoodie is shooting on a black sweatshirt goalie in the above clip, I think the OP has a point. If black hoodie is on a breakaway there, obviously your commentary is correct and I’d agree with you here.

    Absolutely this, thank you. It wasn’t a breakaway FYI, so that doesn’t apply. The play was made in the offensive zone

    8ob0jzgj97zu.png
Sign In or Register to comment.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.