EA Forums - Banner

Can anyone Spanish help me?

Prev1
juliet603
17888 posts Member
Hola! I'm from Peru, it doesn't actually matter if you pronounce y's and ll's equally, because when you speak it it sounds THE SAME. Trust me.

By the way, anyone from Latin America can speak fluent spanish as someone from Spain, the difference is in some words that come from the different cultures but are only spoken on our country. Other thing that is different from each country is the 'way' we say things (it's call "dejo") not necessarily the pronunciation.

Hope this helps.

Replies

• Nilmade
    1028 posts
    edited June 2014
    Explaining pronunciation here is difficult and I'm not good at English phonetics.

I don't agree with Patty. There is actually a difference between 'y' and 'll' but the best way to learn it is to listen to the words a lot of times and repeat them. It's true that we talk without noticing the difference and many times people pronounce 'y' as 'll' (not the other way) but if someone pronounces tortilla or paella with 'y', I'm sure we'll notice.
    Don't worry about it because people will understand you anyway but if you want to pronounce them properly, there's a page called wordreference where you can listen to the words. And I think google translator has that feature too.
  • juliet603
    17888 posts Member
    edited June 2014
    Thanks for the help! :-) Most websites I've looked at give different advice but everyone seems to agree that it doesn't really matter because whichever we say it will be understood, and you two have both said that too so that's good! :D

I took a look at wordreference and they seemed to say the ll words the same way I've heard them before, but it pronounced 'yo' differently to how I'd been taught.

To be honest English people are so terrible at bothering to learn other languages that I think anyone I tried to speak to in Spanish would be shocked that I was even trying lol!