Forum Discussion

Tobbish
Seasoned Novice
21 days ago

Custom roster makers out there

Not sure if we have any people here that like to make their own rosters? As one who does, I'm curious to what length you go to get them the way you want? I'm looking for ideas and inspiration for things I can possibly implement in mine.

Last year (and this too unless changes have been made) I settled for a start of regular season roster. I waited for every team to play a game and then started from the first EA roster released after that, and then start my editing.

I'm no expert in all players, so I generally check Offensive and Defensive awareness of Jfresh's player cards and come up with a way for a somewhat fair system to determine the skill.

I also edit a loooot of player types. Add a few who are at least close to an enforcer, but mostly I make the low skilled TWF/TWD into something more accurate (mostly grinders, but when in doubt I check scouting reports).

I also google for players with special skills, that are fast, shoot hard, great on pk and stuff, to give those players that little extra love that might get lost because they're not star players. That includes handing out some fitting X-factors too.

I usually look at blocked shots, hits and faceoffs too, to see who are the standouts in the league and give them a well deserved boost.

Hmm, I also edit salaries to make teams cap compliant, to avoid the adjusted salaries (when teams are over or under the cap/floor).

I wish I could do even more, and that is why I'm curious if anyone does something similar? If it's not obvious, my goal is to make my roster as accurate to the real thing as possible.

MV75
    Seasoned Novice

I release a KHL roster that I share, each year. NHL 25 will be my fourth game in a row that I do the roster.
    And I really try to make it a good one, all the KHL teams and lots of extra clubs connected to the History of KHL.