7 years ago
A Lesson to My Enimies
Space Cowboy is a crafty one You can’t hope to Strike with Sun. You may find your Wing-Nut lacking (Moving is not bonus attacking.) Too Amphibious for Mowers, Too small for Pinapple Throwers, A...
Consider this other example:
In Lane 1, Zombies have a Nurse Gargantuar. Plants have a Jack o’ Lantern behind a Walnut.
1) Zombies attack first. The Nurse Damages the Walnut.
2) Plants attack second. The Jack o’ Lantern damages the Nurse and the Zombie Hero.
3) Both the Nurse and the Lantern have abilities that prepare to resolve. In most cases, the order of these abilities is not important - and you may not notice it. The heal (Nurse) should happen before the buff (Lantern).
4) However, Damage must resolve before either ability does. Therefore, the Lantern could kill the Zombie Hero before either ability resolves, even though it attacked second.
I think you are trying to apply logic to something that isn't logical but merely a game design. There is no reason why Cowboy should "move" before Hothead blows up. Blowing up is Hothead's turn and is no different than a plant with strength's turn to hit Cowboy. Ultimately the game decided Cowboy will move before the plant is "destroyed" but after the plant attacks. Hothead does not attack until it is destroyed as the rest of the potato mines.
Out of curiosity does this design stay consistent with other plants like Prickly Pear? It stands to reason it should take the hit since that is on hurt unless of course Cowboy moves before that mechanic as well.
Very strong card none the less.
All the “damage when hurt” plants follow the same rules, yes.
Even Briar Rose. In this case, Cowboy moves over one lane and then is destroyed before it attacks again. (So... no functional distinction.)
Edit: Hot Head’s attack and the damage it deals when it is destroyed are distinct actions that happen separately. This is easy to see if you bestow Hot Head with power to attack with, such as with Starch-Lord or Three Nut. Cowboy will take combat damage from bestowed power, just like any other Zombie.