Forum Discussion

Stina1701A
Seasoned Newcomer
5 years ago

Another new to Sims 3 and need advice thread ;)

Well...not new exactly. I stopped playing Sims 3 in around 2013 circa and although I never got all the packs it was a blast but I never got around playing it again after a computer crash. I have been playing Sims 4 since august 2017 and have always been planning on going back to Sims 3. Now I no longer have the Sims 3 packs so I am thinking of becoming a basic member of Origin to gain the free access to Sims 3 basic pack but I was wondering if you could give me some advice on mods and anything else I, essentially a new player would need to know?

Now I do remember that I did have the big mod, NRAAS (hope I am having the acronyms correctly) so I have found the site for that mod and am in the process of signing up on the site (I don't think my old login is valid; don't even remember it anymore or under what defunkt email address I signed it under) and am starting reading up on it. But I was wondering, as I won't have all the packs just yet, I am thinking just to get the basic one and any that I can get free under the basic membership but will NRAAS work with so few packs or does my game have to have ALL packs that has come out for Sims 3?
  • @Stina1701A - I started out with NRAAS with just the basic packs Generations/Late Night and haven't looked back. Even with the basic packs, NRAAS with its Errortrap and Overwatch as well as Master Controller will do wonders to stop crashes outside of Error 12 (Out of Memory) errors. Now I have all the EPs and frankly, NRAAS allows me to play Sims 3 for at least 16 hours at a stretch...without running into game-crashes.