Ideas

kathmhughes
New Spectator
3 days ago
Not A Bug

Discover University CAS Items Mis-Tagged

This bug report Hughes-08 entry is about CAS Items in Discover University. 

I want to make sure you’re reading these, so I made some adjustments to make them more brief. I’m also including 2 images to help express my findings. So far, I’ve found over 325 color filter errors in CAS.

I’m a tenured psychology professor who teaches on color perception – and my real name is Dr. Hughes (could be a fun pun with Hues as in colors). I’m just trying to help you with my expertise so the game flows better.

Ambiguous colors seem to be behind the majority of these errors, but not all. When it comes to ambiguous colors, I know sometimes it’s preferable to split right at the color threshold (when aqua is slightly more green or slightly more blue), but I’d argue that’s not reasonable with so many thousands of items in the Sims 4. At this point, given the number of aqua and magenta items, I do think they need their own color filters.

I previously suggested a burgundy filter, but I rescind that, as the numbers for burgundy are not as high as I thought.

There are a lot of issues with purples and pinks in the game, as purple appears to be defined as anything between violet and burgundy, except for a rose pink. Pink seems to be defined as everything from a pastel lavender, magenta, rose pink, light red, to a faded orange – which is half of the color wheel in pastels. I’m switching out purple for violet and defining pink as a cerise or rose.

Ambiguous colors definitions to refer to:

1. Red-Orange (scarlet, vermillion, coral, salmon, peach).
    2. Orange-Yellow (gold, saffron, mango, amber).
    3. Yellow-Green (chartreuse, neon, olive).
    4. Green-Blue (cyan, turquoise, teal, aqua).
    5. Blue-Violet (indigo, periwinkle).
    6. Violet-Pink (magenta, fuchsia, lavender, orchid).
    7. Pink-Red (burgundy, wine, crimson, maroon).