Forum Discussion
Hey 7q8psc70sc3o,
The only way to restore or transfer old progress to a new device would be to log into your original copy of the game and make sure that's been linked to your iCloud account.
If this is only available to you on a device that cannot go through that process, unfortunately there won't be a way to transfer the progress. We are unable to transfer progress manually or with the player ID. The only way to do so would be with these steps, however if those are unavailable due to the age of the device, there won't be any way to save that progress, sorry.
WOW! You did not listen or read what I had to say at all did you. My understanding is that with the player ID you could do this behind the scenes manually, link the player ID to my (current) account. It was never linked and/or saved and the iPad is too old to update. It would be impossible to get the info from it now. Also what is the point of the player ID if it not a copy of the saved info? And can you check to see what email is associated with a player ID, for maybe it was linked to one, but not my main one.
- EA_Mako8 days ago
Community Manager
7q8psc70sc3o
I sure did read your entire post, in my previous reply I confirmed that you said your only copy of this was on an old device that can no longer be updated, and was never linked.What I clarified is that there is no way to back up or restore a copy of the game that was not linked. Since you were never able to link that game and the device cannot be updated to allow you to log in and try linking, there is no path available to have that transferred.
I'm afraid your understanding that this could be done manually with the Player ID is incorrect, so unfortunately wherever you'd heard that was mistaken. The page I've previously linked is the only way to transfer progress.
Your Player ID helps identify your account, but it has nothing to do with storing the data or making it transferrable. That is necessary for the support team to locate the account. If you're not certain which email was used there, it would be best to contact support directly so they can help look into that with you, though to be clear they cannot manually transfer progress either.