Forum Discussion

columbia93
Rising Novice
2 years ago

Custom Lifespans - Do you use & what numbers?

With the new lifespans & baby/toddler expansion, I'm redoing my custom lifespan. I've been using the cfg file in MCCC to make changes prior but considering trying it with MCCC in game.

But here's the thing...I play with way longer lifespans than what EA has & am wondering if anyone else does.

The biggest determinant for me is that I feel like there should be 4 seasons in a year and, oddly, EA doesn't let you adjust this down...so that means 28 Sim days in a year. So, being realistic puts my game at over 2000 Sim days! I've been playing it this way for a few years (didn't start playing TS4 until '19 Xmas!) and, since I take it slow, it hasn't really bothered me. I hadn't given it much thought until I saw the days adjusted, Normal, for the latest update, then I started feeling like I must be absolutely alone in this! And a little bit weird!

And now I'm looking at "Normal" and how much I should adjust it down. Which got me to wondering if anyone else adjust their lifespans & what/how they do it!

(BTW, is there a mod out there to adjust seasons to less than 7days?)

Hope to hear from some people - should be fun!
  • I don't really sync my lifespan with seasons, but I typically use a modified normal (about double) though right now my aging saves are on long. My seasons are 28 days and lunar cycle is 24 days. Why I can't have 28 day lunar cycles bugs me, but not horribly so.
    moppy14w
    Seasoned Newcomer
    You're not alone. I'm asking a version of this very question in a post just today. I equate about one year 'real' life with one week in game. This is close to EA Normal lifespan but makes holidays and seasons a shambles.
    I'm thinking of slowing down but maybe not by four times. University, toddler lifespans and pregnancy length (which I mod...) to consider.
    moppy14w
    Seasoned Newcomer
    Mulling over this again this morning (my time).