Forum Discussion

8 years ago

Alien Abduction Tuning

I'm just getting started with tuning mods and for the most part I've familiarized myself with the game's xml format. I figured starting with changing alien abduction rates was a good place to start since it would be cool to know what influences abductions and change the rates so I can finally have an alien pregnancy. However, there are some things I don't understand.

1. The commodity value of AlienAbduction_Tracker calls on certain buffs, which in turn call on their respective mixer interactions to control the likelihood of alien abduction. However, each of these buffs has a weight of 25 in respect to their interaction items. I'm very confused as to what this weight means, since there are no other possible interactions in the interaction_items list. Is this a 25/100 chance for the mixer interaction to be called? Because rates of abduction are already crazy low even without that additional 1/4 rate.

2. Each alienabduction mixer has a sub_action enumeration, which doesn't contain any items, just a base_weight of 2 (or 5 in the case of the second highest alienabduction mixer). Does this serve any purpose, or is it just leftovers from the devs?

3. The same mixers also change which sims can be abducted under test_globals, with the second highest one not allowing teens, but all the other ones allowing teens-elders. Is this an oversight or am I missing something here?