Forum Discussion

kowm8vv9ntqc's avatar
kowm8vv9ntqc
New Novice
1 month ago

Save missing but still technically there

Hi. I know my title might not be the most descriptive cause Im not too sure how to describe it. So I share an account with my sister and we right now we share the laptop to play until she gets a new one. I currently have three saves, my main save, her main save, and a save i use when I'm in the mood for random building. I played earlier then she played now after a bit I went back and her save has basically taken over. I opened my save and it was hers, went into hers and it was hers. the only thing that remains is the empty build save. I restarted the game and same thing, so I'm unsure of what went wrong and any advice would be greatly appreciated.

8 Replies

  • kowm8vv9ntqc​ It sounds like your sister saved over your save rather than her own.  So to get yours back, try recovering your save.  I'm not sure how many backups there will be due to the recent changes but if you've been playing the save for a while, you should have at least 5 choices to recover from the save your sister saved over.  Just open the Load menu and select the save.  Look on the right side next to the Delete button.  There should be a Recover button there.  Click it and follow the directions.  Choose the top choice.  Once done, check the save to make sure it's the right one.  If not, then do it again choosing the next save down.  

    Hope this helps.

  • kowm8vv9ntqc's avatar
    kowm8vv9ntqc
    New Novice
    1 month ago

    I was able to recover the save but it keeps happening and I'm not sure if its something that she specifically keeps doing because it doesn't happen to her, just me. 

  • kowm8vv9ntqc​  Are you saying this keeps happening when your sister plays, or does it also happen when you play, or when neither of you have played?  Does it help to disable the auto-save feature?  You might need to disable it for each save; I haven't checked.

    Please also let me know whether OneDrive is syncing your user data.  Here's how to find the location of the user folder:

    https://sims4.crinrict.com/eng/2018/07/how-to-find-your-user-folder/

    If it's inside OneDrive, let me know whether you'd like to keep OneDrive, stop it from syncing your data, or remove it altogether.

  • kowm8vv9ntqc's avatar
    kowm8vv9ntqc
    New Novice
    1 month ago

    I'm saying it happens to my save when she plays. When I play her save is fine, but hers keeps overriding mine so I have to keep recovering it. So far that's helped. I stop syncing to OneDrive a long time ago. I only disabled autosave for my save but I'm not sure if it did anything at all.

  • billblogs's avatar
    billblogs
    Seasoned Veteran
    1 month ago

    kowm8vv9ntqc​ Their is a thread about this. Go and vote.

    https://forums.ea.com/idea/the-sims-4-bug-reports-en/saves-being-deletedoverwritten/13579410

  • kowm8vv9ntqc​  Sorry for the late reply; I've been away from the forums for a bit.  Is this still happening to you?  The e-patch released last week fixed the issue with auto-saves overwriting the wrong save slot, so if that was your original issue, it should be addressed now.  But if you're still seeing the problem, the cause would be different, in which case we can keep troubleshooting.