Forum Discussion

m_lowks's avatar
2 years ago

Touchback/Safety ruling after muffed punt in end zone is currently incorrect

When in Quick Play, playing as the receiving team I had a punt deflect off my player and bounce into the endzone. I ran back to pick up the ball in the endzone, however, the play was immediately blown dead and ruled a safety. Seems like the game is programmed to recognize a muffed punt recovered by the receiving team as a possession change, hence the play being blown dead immediately. Furthermore, even if the receiving player had gone to the ground to recover the ball in the endzone, the play should have been ruled a touchback, rather than a safety. Please reference the NCAA rulebook regarding Rule 8-5-1-a which stipulates that if the ball is deflected into the endzone by the receiving team without a change to the impetus of the football, it may be recovered in the endzone for a touch back (attaching a screenshot directly from the NCAA rulebook for validation)

1 Reply

  • FSMpreist21's avatar
    FSMpreist21
    Seasoned Adventurer
    10 months ago
    @m_lowks yup.. the game interprets a muffed punt as a fumble... the punt team can advance and take it to the crib... NONSENSE... they say that the Tiburon team that makes this game are college football fans but they don't know dicque for rules of the game.

    ALSO: Missed FGs aren't supposed to be brought out to the 20 yard line, but that happens, too!

    Love how this game is still broken 3 weeks into the college football season

About College Football 25 General Discussion

Join the community on the forums and talk about your passion for EA SPORTS™ College Football 25.2,554 PostsLatest Activity: 2 days ago