Forum Discussion

7 years ago

How to Be a Proper Whale

I try not to spend too much on this game, although I justify the minor expenditures I make on the fact that I've been playing pretty much every day for two years now. It's like a legit hobby. ...Huh, I maybe need a more productive hobby.

Well, that aside, I do get iTunes gift cards from time to time and I save them up. The holidays are coming! So let's say I end up with a bunch of gift cards I could throw into this: I wouldn't even know what to do to maximize my expenditures!

Should I spend it 100% on crystals? If so, what do I use the crystals for?
Refreshes? ...That just seems impatient. Wait a bit, and you don't have to spend a penny on this.
Gear? Also impatient, but some gear is REALLY hard to get. Maybe ONLY on gear that can't be easily farmed the natural way?
Character or ship shards? For some characters and ships, this is the only way to get them (remember when Darth Vader was the ONLY character you couldn't get? And even he dropped shards for achievements? Ahh, the days before the money-grubbing...)

Or should I buy chromium packs or mega-packs? To be honest, those seem like quite a gamble and probably a waste. The one time I ever bought one (I saved up crystals forever!) it was one of those "you could earn 5-330 shards!" and I got 10. Wanted to punch the wall and haven't bought one since.

So. If you were going to spend on the game (or for those of you who have and are happy with what you got out of it), what's the optimal way to get your money's worth, d'ye think?

Thanks for the advice. If you think I oughta take my iTunes cards and buy some songs or apps with them instead (e.g., there IS nothing in the game that gives a worthwhile payout, save my money), that's a viable answer as well. All opinions on this are appreciated! =)

Sam UX