Forum Discussion

LunasTardis's avatar
LunasTardis
Seasoned Newcomer
1 month ago

Saves deleted from autosave

My save was deleted because of autosave. My original save ( lets say save 1) I spent a great deal of time in that save. I left autosave on it, as I anted to try the new feature. I later went to a different save, and when I next checked save 1 was gone. I'm devastated I lost so much progress and I have no clue how to get it back.

7 Replies

  • Patch/Game Version: 1.126.77.1020 (August Update)

    No Mods Installed - I only have a few Custom Content CAS Items

    Playing on PC, Using EA App to Launch The Sims 4

    After today's update I am now experiencing the bug where a manual save has overridden another save.

    I had not experienced this bug before this patch. I only have two saves in my saves list at the moment, as I am on a new PC. I was playing in one, saved it manually and switched to another save to test out building something.

    But after closing the game and coming back to it hours later, the same save appears in both slots. I did not encounter any issues in saving or closing The Sims 4 previous to this happening.

    I have also not been using the auto-save feature since it was announced and have chosen to continue manual saves as normal where I hadn't encountered any issues before this update.

  • lilyj92's avatar
    lilyj92
    New Novice
    1 month ago

    Hi thanks for your reply! :)

    I couldn't get this method to work, so I recovered previous versions of each save via the Save Menu in game. 

  • crinrict's avatar
    crinrict
    Hero+
    1 month ago

    And that worked for you to get the old back ?

  • lilyj92's avatar
    lilyj92
    New Novice
    1 month ago

    Yes, I was able to recover previous saves that way. They are working so far with manual saving, and are not overriding each other.

    I think my problem might have initially happened when I switched back and forward between the two original saves. Moving forward, I think I might just quit out of the game and relaunch if I want to switch to another save file just to be safe :)

  • crinrict's avatar
    crinrict
    Hero+
    1 month ago

    Hi lilyj92​ 

    that's always the best option. There have been bugs that transfer that way as well.